MDTA Cup – Week 3 Update

315685-mega goldWe are now a quarter into the season and the MDTA Cup is just starting to heat up.  Here are the current standings after this weekends Rosemount and St. Francis Tournaments (waiting on U of M for Policy).

Lincoln-Douglas Debate

Moving up one spot, Edina High School (11 Points) has moved into first place.  Apple Valley (10 points also moves up a spot to second place.  Robbinsdale Cooper slides two spots to third place this week (9 points).

In the individual race, it continues to be very tight as Edina’s Arvind Veluvali and Mahtomedi’s Sophie Krohn are tied in first place with 5 points.  There is a eight way tie for 3rd place with 4 points.

Classic Debate

In our first update for Classic debate, we see Rochester Mayo (9 Points) is in the lead.  Minnehaha and Eastivew (7 Points) are in a tie for second place.

In the individual race, Mayo’s Sam Rowekamp and Jared Baudoin (5 Points) have the early lead.  There is a huge tie for second place with 4 points.

Public Forum Debate

Holding onto to their lead for the second straight update in first place is Eastview High School (14 points).  In a tie for second place is Chanhassen High School and St. Paul Academy (11 Points).  In third place is Edina High School (7 Points).

In the individual race, Eastviews Colin Haave and Alex Baker continue to hold onto the lead (8 points).  Tied for third is Eastview’s Rishabh Gupta and Grace Hauser and Chanhassen’s Devid Sebenaler and Marc Poissonnier.

Policy Debate

With two tournaments in, Eagan High School (8 Points) has jumped to the lead.  Second place is held by Jefferson High School (6 Points) and we have a three way tie for 3rd with Rosemount, Edina and Highland Park.

In the individual race, Eagan’s Wilary and Roberts (5 Points) hold the leave over four people in a tie for third place.


MDTA Cup – Week 2 Update

315685-mega goldThe first two weeks of the season are in the books and the first update to the annual MDTA Cup Points is now available.

Lincoln-Douglas Debate

In first place is Robbinsdale Cooper High School with 8 total points.

In second place is Edina High School with 7 total points.

In third place is Apple Valley High School with 6 total points.

There are three schools tied with 5 points (Eagan, Robbinsdale Armstrong and Mahtomedi).

In the individual race, there are three students tied with 4 points (Frankie Kelly, Apple Valley – David Necas, Robbinsdale Cooper – Michael White, Robbinsdale Cooper).

Public Forum Debate

In first place is Eastview High School with 10 total points.

In second place is a tie between Edina High School and St. Paul Academy with 7 total points.

In fourth place, Chanhassen High School has 6 total points.

In the individual race, the teammates of Colin Haave and Alex Baker of Eastview High School both have 6 total points.

Policy Debate

With a single weekend in the books for Policy debate (Jamboree failed to meet the 4 school requirement) we have a tie at the top with Eagan and Rosemount with 4 Points.

MDTA Jamboree: Season Kickoff

12038097_10153755563369274_2961801410610736850_nWith over 20 schools and 400 students the 2015-2016 debate had a great kickoff at the MDTA Jamboree hosted at Lakeville South High School.

In Policy Debate, the team of Emily McCoy and Aishwarya Mankala of Eagan High School went 3-0 to take home the honors of top Policy team.

In Public Forum, a pair of Eastview Teams (Colin Haave/Alex Baker and Osman Mansur/Anika Vij) went 4-0 and tied speaker points to take home 1st and 2nd place.

2015 State Champion, Arvind Veluvali of Edina started off his season with a bang by going 4-0 taking home the top stop in Lincoln-Douglas.

© 2015 - MDTA - Website powered by GCMTotalSolutions
©2015 Minnesota Debate Teachers Association