MDTA Jamboree: Season Kickoff

12038097_10153755563369274_2961801410610736850_nWith over 20 schools and 400 students the 2015-2016 debate had a great kickoff at the MDTA Jamboree hosted at Lakeville South High School.

In Policy Debate, the team of Emily McCoy and Aishwarya Mankala of Eagan High School went 3-0 to take home the honors of top Policy team.

In Public Forum, a pair of Eastview Teams (Colin Haave/Alex Baker and Osman Mansur/Anika Vij) went 4-0 and tied speaker points to take home 1st and 2nd place.

2015 State Champion, Arvind Veluvali of Edina started off his season with a bang by going 4-0 taking home the top stop in Lincoln-Douglas.

MDTA Meeting Minutes

Meeting minutes of the 2015 Fall General Membership meeting are available here: MDTA Minutes CTAM 2015


Cort Sylvester headed to MSHSL Hall of Fame

bio_cort_sylvesterJoin the MDTA and MSHSL in congratulating one of own, Cort Sylvester, in being inducted into the MSHSL Hall of Fame.  The HoF ceremony will occur on October 25 at the InterContinential Saint Paul Riverfront Hotel (formerly Crowne Plaza).  The ceremony will start at 1:00 PM and individual tickets are $30.00.  To register, download this form:

2015 Hall of Fame Ceremony Invitation

Cort’s MSHSL Hall of Fame Bio

A 1985 graduate of Barnesville High School, Cortney Sylvester was the first three-time Class A state champion in speech. He was also one of Minnesota’s first four-time state medalists. Sylvester was a two-time participant at the National Forensic League and was a national runner-up.  At Concordia (Moorhead), he was a national champion and a five-time national finalist. He then graduated from the University of Michigan Law School. In addition to his success as a litigating attorney, Sylvester has coached speech and debate at Rosemount High School for the past 23 years. His teams have qualified for the state tournament 22 of those 23 years. They won the state title in 2006 and have qualified for the national tournament 16 times. A longtime member of the Minnesota Debate Teachers Association, Sylvester served as president and remains on the board of directors. He holds numerous awards of distinction and is regularly selected by his peers to judge at state tournaments. He currently represents Minnesota on the National Federation of High School Association’s Debate Topic Selection Committee.

© 2015 - MDTA - Website powered by GCMTotalSolutions
©2015 Minnesota Debate Teachers Association