MDTA Cup – Week 2 Update

315685-mega goldThe first two weeks of the season are in the books and the first update to the annual MDTA Cup Points is now available.

Lincoln-Douglas Debate

In first place is Robbinsdale Cooper High School with 8 total points.

In second place is Edina High School with 7 total points.

In third place is Apple Valley High School with 6 total points.

There are three schools tied with 5 points (Eagan, Robbinsdale Armstrong and Mahtomedi).

In the individual race, there are three students tied with 4 points (Frankie Kelly, Apple Valley – David Necas, Robbinsdale Cooper – Michael White, Robbinsdale Cooper).

Public Forum Debate

In first place is Eastview High School with 10 total points.

In second place is a tie between Edina High School and St. Paul Academy with 7 total points.

In fourth place, Chanhassen High School has 6 total points.

In the individual race, the teammates of Colin Haave and Alex Baker of Eastview High School both have 6 total points.

Policy Debate

With a single weekend in the books for Policy debate (Jamboree failed to meet the 4 school requirement) we have a tie at the top with Eagan and Rosemount with 4 Points.

MDTA Cup – Classic Debate Update

After 5 tournaments, the Classic Debate MDTA Cup points are currently as follows:

Top Individuals:

Student School Points
Jack Kurila Eastview 9
Erik Lecy Eastview 9
Charlotte Roiger Eastview 9
Muskaan Goyal Eastview 8
Maria Kalambokidis Stillwater 8
Sarah Karels BSM 8
Parker Breza BSM 8
Elijah Kranz Eastview 8
Michelle Ji Eastview 8
Sofia Logan Stillwater 8


School Points:

School Points
Eastview 22
Stillwater 17
South St Paul 13
BSM 13
Minnehaha 10
Mayo 8
Southwest 8
White Bear Lake 7
Minnetonka 5
Henry Sibley 4
Orono 2
Mankato 1

All results are tentative pending a final audit. 

Why aren’t I winning the MDTA Cup?

Through the magic of spreadsheets and macros the MDTA cup points are tracked each week based on results submitted by tournament hosts and/or tabroom staff. With the increased use of the  Joy of Tournaments program for registration this year we’ve hoped to cut back significantly on some common errors, but it is still very possible that some student points may not be correctly reflected for many reasons. The most common is simple misspelling. Each unique spelling (or nickname, or abbreviation) will show up as a different person, therefore if you were listed in results packets as Tom, Tommy, and Thomas on three different weekends, your points are being split as if earned by 3 separate identities.

This also occasionally comes into play with school names – St. vs. Saint, etc. Throughout the season this will be checked and re-checked, but updates and corrections are made at all times – thus the disclaimer on all update posts – results are subject to change with final audit!

If your name was misspelled in the results packet, it’s a good bet it was carried into the MDTA Cup points tracking incorrectly as well. If you’ve noticed this, please email your correct name spelling, format of debate you compete in, and school to and I’ll be sure to take a closer look at combining your aliases.

You can also track your own MDTA Cup points to be sure they match:

Individual Points:

1 Point for Competing at Tournament (in-state)

1 Point for finishing 1 through 8th place, or qualifying to elim rounds, whichever includes more students

1 Point for placing first at a tournament without elims

1 Point for each elimination round won

Max of 5 points per tournament

Must participate in four in-state tournaments to qualify for award

1 Point for qualifying to state tournament

(MSHSL State Tournament or MSHSL State Festival results do not count towards awards)

 The top two point earners in each format at each tournament count towards school points.

As always, we thank tournament hosts for forwarding the results and brackets of varsity divisions asap after your event.

© 2015 - MDTA - Website powered by GCMTotalSolutions
©2015 Minnesota Debate Teachers Association