MDTA James Graupner Distinguished Service Award

The MDTA Distinguished Service Award was established in 1982, and renamed the MDTA James Graupner Distinguished Service Award by the organization in 1994.

This award is given to debate coaches or other distinguished individuals who have made outstanding contributions to education in general and to debate students in particular. This award is not required to be presented each year, but granted judiciously so as to maintain its special significance.

Nominations are to be made, accompanied by a written rationale, through an MDTA newsletter ballot. The Awards Committee shall review all nominations and forward appropriate names to the MDTA President. A maximum of 3 names and a minimum of 0 names can be forwarded to the President. The President shall prepare a ballot, which shall be distributed to all past recipients of this award for their vote. An individual may receive this award only once.

MDTA James Graupner Distinguished Service Award Recipients
2018 Conrad Anderson South St. Paul High School
2017 Ross Eichele Eagan High School
2015 Peter Nikolai
2013 John Fogarty Cannon Falls High School
2010 Pam Wycoff Apple Valley High School
2009 DJ Brynteson Robbinsdale Armstrong & Cooper High School
2008 Cort Sylvester Rosemount High School
2007 Joe & Lynn Schmitt Edina High School
2005 Chris McDonald Eagan High School
2003 Gail Sarff Wayzata High School
2001 Todd Hering Eastview High School
2000 John Fisher Mounds View High School
1999 Wanda Manther Rosemount High School
1998 Mike Vergin Eagan High School
1997 Barbara Kersten Roseville Area High School
1996 Helen Fisk St. Paul Academy & Summit School
1995 Lee Alto Grand Rapids High School
1994 Dorothy Sunne Forest Lake High School
MDTA Distinguished Service Award Recipients
1993 Randy Keillor St. Francis High School
1992 Harlan Shuck Moorhead High School
1991 James Graupner Stillwater High School
1990 Scott Nobles Macalester College
1989 Donus Roberts Watertown High School
1988 Kathy Pomroy Kellogg High School
1987 Bob Ihrig Mankato West High School
1986 Carl Lehmann and Richard Stanford (Northern States Power)
1985 Ray Kolbe Lakeville High School
1984 Tom Stolen Duluth Denfeld High School
1983 Ruth Westrom St. Anthony Village High School
1982 Jim Seeden Minneapolis South High School
© 2015 - MDTA - Website powered by GCMTotalSolutions
©2019 Minnesota Debate Teachers Association